Apple hits back as EU brands it ‘gatekeeper’ in landmark move

Apple has hit back at today’s EU announcement that the company is one of six gatekeepers in the digital space, following the first landmark designation from the European Commission under its new Digital Markets Act. 

In a press release, the European Commission stated Wednesday that it « has today designated, for the first time, six gatekeepers – Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta, Microsoft – under the Digital Markets Act (DMA). In total, 22 core platform services provided by gatekeepers have been designated. The six gatekeepers will now have six months to ensure full compliance with the DMA obligations for each of their designated core platform services. » 

EU gatekeepers

(Image credit: European Commission)

Soyez le premier à commenter

Poster un Commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.